Breathe Deep, Its a Monday

Its Monday. Nothing good happens on Mondays. Today was no different.

I unexpetedly had the day off (bummer), so I took my truck in for an estimate on what I hoped would be a small repair. It wasn’t small.

Mondays.

Vehicle repairs are usually more than expected. I know this. Last night when I decided to take the truck into the shop, I started sweating the possibility of a major issue. I worried all last night. I worked through, with my limited knowledge, what could be wrong and what it might cost. I thought through the finances and our budget. I had a dollar amount I would be “comfortable” spending. I woke up this morning nervous and a little nauseous about the whole prospect.

The truth is I spent a lot of time working over and reworking scenarios in my head. I burned a lot of energy worrying about the whole situation. I was tense with the possibility of shelling out big money for the repair. I justify this kind of worry as a way of preparing myself for the worst.

The reality is all my worrying, thinking and frustration had absolutely no bearing on the what was wrong with my truck, the cost of the repair or my budget. It changed nothing. It did not answer any of my questions. It did not fix the truck. It did increase my bank account balance. Here the Bible proves itself accurate to real life:

Matthew 6:25–34

  • 25 For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life…
  • 27 And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life?
  • 31 Do not worry…
  • 34 So do not worry about tomorrow…

Worry was once described to me as circling around an issue which I can do noting about.

But how does one stop worrying about something that impacts their life significantly? How do you let go of something or someone without giving up, becoming fatalistic or callous?  What does it look like to be concerned, struggle for resolution and remedy, while being at peace with the outcome, not matter how the chips fall?

If you operate within the an orthodox Christian worldview the answer is trust. In the mists of all the worry talk of Matthew 6, Jesus reminders those who listen to him:

32 …Your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.

The Message puts the same verse this way:

“People who don’t know God and the way he works
fuss over these things,
but you know both God and how he works.”

Ultimately, I think Jesus calls us to trust our loved ones, our possessions, our days and calendars, our lives to his/God’s care. This means we have to view our lives through his eyes not ours. God lacks nothing. Not time. Not money. Not love. Their is no scarcity with or within God. He does not worry about running out of resources. There is no greed in his thinking that if he gives to some he will have less for himself. If we believe God is the creator and sustainer of all things (including our lives) then we roll with the punches the best we can, knowing God is in control and we are safe and loved. This despite the look of things.

This is not denial. We do have a part to play in our lives. Our responsibility is to be good managers of what we have, work for godly resolutions and be thoughtful about how we live. But it is not our burden to worry. To trust? Yes. To be faithful? Yes. To be responsible? Yes. To control? No.

For my Monday this means trusting God will provide. No stewing or lamenting the cost of the repair. No thinking about what I would have rather spent the money on. No second guessing or doubting. Rather trust is recognizing God has already provided the resources to take care of the problem and being thankful he has, even if it stings as I pay for it.

Leave a Reply

