Settlements

There are a lot of things in life I want to be. Not just things I want do, but a lot of things I want to be.

  • I want to be wise.
  • I want to be strong.
  • I want to be a good father.
  • I want to be an amazing husband.
  • I want to be in better shape.
  • I want to be known as a person who reads a lot.
  • I want to be intuitive and discerning.
  • I want to be a bad-ass.
  • I want to be creative.
  • I want to be innovative.
  • I want to be an excellent communicator.
  • I want to be a thoughtful and deliberate friend.

The interesting things about wanting to be something is that it requires us to do something. There is a cost.  Its easy to want to be something or someone. But when it comes to actually putting in the effort, that’s a different story.  I am constantly reminded of guys like RG3 or other “professionals” who have achieved their dreams and great status because they pushed through the costs and never settled for “good enough.”

I think we fall short of our being because we settle. Think about the word.  When things settle or we “let them settle” it conjures up pictures of stillness, deliberate lack of attention or focus and avoidance.

We settle for less than we could have, less than we could be because there is something about the here-and-now know that is more comforting, accessible and easy that makes settling worth it.  I have alway had the thought that if you want something but are not willing to do what it takes to get that something, you don’t really want it.  The pain of change is greater than the pain of staying the same.

Settling for less is effortless, it is the default and it is death.  But to not settle or to move is not about wild resolutions, momentous pendulum swings or radical divergences.  Being is about mid course corrections that lead to reformation.

In the hopes I being a better communicator, teacher, preacher I am rereading a book (cost of time) I was assigned in school.  I’ll admit it (cost of ego), it was a book I read doing my doctoral programs that I just didn’t get or understand. It was abstract and forgien to me.  But in the effort to to fight of settling (cost of comfort) I am giving it another crack years later.

No one has even made history, influenced the status quo or found the joy of life by aiming at the bare minimum and settling.

One thought on “Settlements

Leave a Reply

